Alaska Congressional Delegation Movin On Up

Alaska's congressional delegation: Sen. Dan Sullivan, Rep. Don Young and Sen. Lisa Murkowski.


Call it George Jefferson Day for Alaska’s congressional delegation. Sen. Lisa Murkowski, Sen. Dan Sullivan, and Rep. Don Young all moved up in significant ways as the 115th Congress was sworn in yesterday.

Alaska Public Media’s Liz Ruskin says of Young:

Rep. Don Young, R-Alaska, was sworn in for his 23rd term. He now ascends to second in House seniority. (As he was before, he’s also the chamber’s most senior Republican.)

Sen. Lisa Murkowski moves up to 24th in Senate seniority (13th among Republicans) and Sen. Dan Sullivan now stands at 93rd (50th among Republicans).

As Ruskin also points out, Murkowski has elected a move that, while technically is a move down, allows her to ceremonially assume the mantle of successor to her mentor Sen. Ted Steven’s legacy.

Ruskin reports:

Murkowski has selected a new office.

She’s taking the one newly retired Sen. Harry Reid is vacating, Suite 522 in the Hart Senate Office Building. It’s also the former office of the late Ted Stevens.

She’ll be descending from the seventh floor to the fifth, but the move is a boost in symbolic value.


More from TMS

Be the first to comment on "Alaska Congressional Delegation Movin On Up"

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.