Six legislators picked to update Legislature’s sexual harassment policies

Six legislators—four women and two men—have been appointed to a special legislative committee on sexual harassment that was formed in the wake of allegations of involving a state senator.

The members include Reps. Matt Claman, Louise Stutes, and Charisse Millett, and Sens. Cathy Giessel, Anna MacKinnon, and Peter Micciche. MacKinnon, an Eagle River Republican, brings relevant experience as the former executive director of the nonprofit Standing Together Against Rape.

The “Sexual and Other Workplace Harassment Policy Subcommittee” was formed by the Legislative Council last week after sexual harassment allegations involving a state senator dating back to June surfaced this month. The allegations focused on an incident between Sen. David Wilson and a legislative aide and was witnessed by at least two reporters. Security footage of the incident has been preserved, but the Legislative Council was initially unwilling to release the footage to either Wilson or the aide’s employer.

The Legislative Council also voted last week to allow Wilson to view the security camera footage of the incident. He viewed the video during last week’s meeting, according to a report by KTOO, but declined to discuss the contents afterward.

The subcommittee will ” tasked with reviewing and recommending updates to the harassment policies for the Alaska State Legislature” in a report before the start of the session in January. No meetings have been scheduled yet.

More from TMS

Be the first to comment on "Six legislators picked to update Legislature’s sexual harassment policies"

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.